Abigail Hing Wen
Author, Speaker, Traveler, Dreamer

Home

Loveboat, Taipei

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians, Jenny Han or Sarah Dessen

“A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice.”

— Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of
AN EMBER IN THE ASHES Series

Available February 4, 2020
Pre-Order Now

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Called “fresh as a first kiss” and “poignant and honest” by award-winning authors Stacey Lee and Sabaa Tahir, this romantic and stirring debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a perfect, fun-filled romp.

Called “fresh as a first kiss” and “poignant and honest” by award-winning authors Stacey Lee and Sabaa Tahir, this romantic and stirring debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a perfect, fun-filled romp.

“Our cousins have done this program,” Sophie whispers. “Best kept secret. Zero supervision.”

And just like that, Ever Wong’s summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict, educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds “Loveboat:” a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.

But not every student is quite what they seem:

  • Ever is working towards becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion to dance.

  • Rick Woo is the Yale-bound, child-prodigy bane of Ever’s existence whose perfection hides a secret.

  • Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.

  • And under sexy Xavier Yeh’s shell is buried a shameful truth he’ll never admit.

When these students’ lives collide, it’s guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

Praise for LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI

“Abigail Hing Wen’s LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI is a poignant and honest examination of first love, family obligations and that strange place between high school and college, where we don’t quite know who we are and as such, anything could happen. A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice.”

— Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES

“Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent, LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI is an intense rush of rebellion, romance, and complex family dynamics. If you’ve ever wanted to feel as if you’re breaking all the rules without actually breaking any rules then this is the book you need to read.”

— Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL

“Not a ship, but a cultural phenomenon, get ready to board the Love Boat, where millions of Chinese Americans get their first taste of love and freedom. Abigail Hing Wen’s debut is fresh as a first kiss.”

— Stacey Lee, award winning author of OUTRUN THE MOON

Loveboat is a Crazy Rich Asians meets a Jane Austen comedy of manners—fresh, fun, heartfelt and totally addictive, a story about finding your place--and your people--where you least expected.”

— Kelly Loy Gilbert, Morris Award Finalist author of CONVICTION